Power Balance Bracelets: Do they really work?

Posted on October 17, 2011

0


Power Balance Silicone Bracelet

Do you think that your game performance can be improved drastically from simply wearing a bracelet? 

Troy and Josh Rodarmel thought so.  In 2006, the Rodarmel brothers came out with the Power Balance Bracelet that is so popular today. Power Balance Bracelets are supposed to improve one’s “balance, strength, and flexibility” with a “thin polyester film hologram.”  This polyester film has a direct effect with one’s “natural energy field,” according to the manufacturers of this product.

The company has now sold about 2.5 million bracelets all around the world.  However, are all the users of this product truly convinced that this bracelet improves their performance?  Shaquille O’Neal said, “I came across Power Balance when someone did the test on me.  That night, while playing for the Phoenix Suns, there were about three of my teammates with the product on and we won that game by 57 points!  I kept feeling something when I wore the bracelet, so I kept wearing it.  When I took it off I went back to normal.  I’ve been wearing the bracelet ever since.”

The effect that the Power Balance bracelet can have is proven through physical tests of balance, strength, and flexibility.  Skeptics say that the improvement from the first time the test is done to the second time the test is done with the bracelet is all in the head of the user.

Caleb Carpenter, senior, says, “I wear it to football practice, while I’m working out, and pretty much all the time.”  He believes that “since [he] started wearing it [he has] seen improvements in [his] performance.”  Caleb, however, has also admitted that, “it may just be in [his] head.”

Senior cheerleader, Cassie Morris also wears a Power Balance Bracelet.  She said, “I use it for cheerleading when I need to balance in a stunt.”

The manufacturers have admitted to false advertisement and said that there is no scientific evidence that the bracelet really does work. Cassie says, “I think if you want it to work, it works.”  She believes it’s a “mental thing” and she likes to think that it works for her.

Power Balance Bracelets continue to be sold even after their law suit on their false advertisement.

People are wearing Power Balance Bracelets not just at Croatan, but all over the world.  You may simply think it looks cool, or you may truly believe that the bracelet works for you, but if it improves your performance, does it really matter if its effect is mental or not?      Reported by Rachel Brazda

Posted in: Reviews