Be Thankful on Thanksgiving

Posted on November 7, 2011

0


It’s warm outside in the afternoon and chilly at night. The green leaves turn orange, yellow, and red as they fall to the ground. When people break out the jackets to keep nice and cozy, that’s when you finally know summer is over and fall is here. Once fall shows its colors, everyone knows Thanksgiving is right around the corner.

Thanksgiving is the time of year where a family gets together, and talks about what they are thankful for.  Emarie Sanders, a graduate from Swansboro High School, said, “I am thankful for a roof over my head, food on my table, clothes on my back, a great momma to be there for me and most of my family and friends.”  Timothy Paiva, a graduate from Swansboro,  said “I’m thankful for mud and four wheel drive trucks. I’m thankful for the dog boxes and seven headed walkers I have. I’m thankful for being a redneck, and I’m thankful its deer season.”

So, how did Thanksgiving begin? Not many people really know, they just believe what they are told without looking it up. Thanksgiving officially started in 1863 when President Lincoln became the first president to proclaim Thanksgiving Day.

The history of Thanksgiving starts with the Pilgrams who came to America to escape religious persecution.  The Pilgrims had grounded at Plymouth Rock during their first winter on December 11, 1620. They lost forty-six people at the beginning of fall.  Thankfully, harvest time in 1621 was a great one, the remaining colonist decided to celebrate with a feast. This feast with ninety-one natives lasted three days.

So on the fourth Thursday of November, be sure to sit at the dinner table with family and tell everything you’re thankful for. Be thankful for family, for the ability to live, or for the ability to do things on your own. Everyone is thankful for something. What are you thankful for?

Reported by Tiffany Johnson

Posted in: News