Ask Sarah: My Brother Fights for Your Freedom

Posted on December 12, 2011

0


Question: My brother is in the army and he’s been gone for so long now. He was my best friend and now I keep getting sad. What should I do?

Autumn Partin with her dad John Partin.

Answer:  Family members are supposed to be there by your side supporting you throughout your life. But sometimes, things don’t go as planned.

I just want to say that your brother is an amazing man for putting his life on line for us. While he’s being strong over there, you have to be strong over here.

Things are going to change. For example, your household rules may change a bit. Your mom may get more strict and your dad may become a little quiet. You have to remember though that being optimistic is the best thing you can do!

Most people at a young age rebel when family members get deployed. You need to be on the good side. Keep your school work up, join a club or sport, and hang with friends. Autumn Partin, sophomore at Croatan High, said, “When I start feeling sad about it I’ll just talk to a friend and set up a girl’s night out or something to get my mind off of it and I just surround myself with people that make me happy.”

The big things families are about are holidays and birthdays. They will probably miss a lot of birthdays, Christmas celebrations, and even Thanksgivings. It’s not like they want to, so don’t get upset with them. With technology, (facebook, skype, oovoo, and emailing) it’s easier than ever to keep in touch with them.

Sometimes it’s weird when family members return. The household and the family members have changed, and now you don’t understand how to react. This is normal. Your brother may not talk about what happened at war, but don’t stress it. It’s going to take a little getting use to. You have to make the “new” household just as amazing as it was before. He’s still your brother and you still love him.

Always remember that there are groups out there that help families that have deployed family members. Also don’t forget your family, friends, and even teachers. They are all there for you, fighting to make you happy. Just like your brother is fighting for all us to be free.

Reported by Sarah Braun

Posted in: Ask Sarah