A Day in the Life of, Well, Me

Posted on January 10, 2012

0


         Good-byes have never been my thing and neither has writing about myself, but for a “good-bye” article, Mrs. Robinson has asked the class to do both of those things at the same time.


            I could start off talking about my favorite articles, and what I learned, and what I loved the most-but none of those things will have an impact on me when I actually leave this class and look back in five years.
            Coming into journalism, I had never had Mrs. Robinson as a teacher but I had always heard a lot about her. As far as the news went, I thought it was depressing and annoying and I kept on a need-to-know basis just so I wasn’t unaware of what was going on around me. I expected to write about it without reading it.
            On the first day of class, Mrs. Robinson seemed nervous and talked really fast and moved around a lot and it was really funny. She rambled about how she had never taught journalism before and that we would all be learning together-so she asked us to be patient.
            After about a week, she became more comfortable with us and praised us for being such a good quiet class. Ha!
            After about a month, she realized she actually had quite a group on her hands. But like she told us to be patient with her, she was extremely patient with us.
            She taught us how it was important to read the news and comprehend the news before writing about it and kept us up to date on our 21st Century Life and Career Skills. These skills were supposed to be our guide not only through journalism, but through our other classes, and throughout our lives as well.
            I can still repeat them to you, (leadership, flexibility, social and cross-cultural skills, initiative, and productivity), and each six weeks, we got an individual grade on these simple tasks to simply better our work, and ourselves.
            This semester, my main column, was “A day in the life” series. Though that was my main beat, I also wrote three other columns on embarrassing moments, gay marriage, and fashion. The last two articles I named, which were actually my first two that I wrote, didn’t receive a lot of attention but were the foundation of my series.
            I realized I wanted to send the message that everyone is the same-we all get sad, we all get vengeful or curious, and we are all average. What makes you seem better than average are the eyes judging you, that’s all.
            One of my most memorable moments was when Mrs. Robinson gave me Outstanding Cougar for her class and when we had the ceremony-she talked about how I personally impacted her with my articles. That meant a lot to me because I believe there’s a fine line between getting the grade you deserve because you’re good at writing, and because you have substance about what you’re writing about that people relate to.
            So here is my good-bye to my series, my readers, my classmates, and to an amazing teacher.
            I can honestly say I read the news on my phone every single day now and that I am leaving this class with knowledge that will get me through my next step (college) and pride in what I do and who I am. Thank you.

by Courtney Hines

Posted in: Uncategorized