It comes to an end

Posted on January 10, 2012

0


As of this Friday, January 13, 2012, I will no longer be writing for the newspaper. I will be starting my new and last semester here at Croatan. This will be my last article for Journalism. There have been some ups and downs throughout this semester in this class. Everything from winning a grant, to Mrs. Robinson throwing a temper tantrum because the printer stopped working. One thing is for sure, I will never forget this class and what I have learned from it.

First, I just want to say coming into this class I had a different perspective than what I did leaving. I came into this class just wanting an easy credit. There was a lot I didn’t know about news and how it works and should be written. But as the semester went on, my goal was to become a better writer. I worked hard to make sure my writing was good and that my topic would interest people.

I found out very fast that I didn’t know much about the news. I knew the simple basic concepts of the news, but not nearly as much as I know now. I’ve learned that the news is a very important part of everyday life and that without news people wouldn’t know what was going on around them. This class has shown me what news actually is and should be.

The most important thing that I have learned in this class would have to be the rights of the news. I learned the rights of The First Amendment and how it influences the news that can be published today. There are limits to everything being said. If it wasn’t for The First Amendment, then we would have riots and outbreaks everywhere.

Winning the grant for new cameras is one memory that I will always have.  Overall, this is one class that I will take something away from when I leave: not only memories,but also writing techniques and how the news works. That is something that will never be forgotten.

Written by Gregory Braun

Posted in: Uncategorized