Sayonara

Posted on January 10, 2012

0


            On August 25th, 2011, I began what I knew would be one of the best classes of my high school career. Sure enough, Journalism with Mrs. Robinson became the highlight of my every day, and was always a terrific way to kick off the morning. The material was interesting, the work itself was rewarding, and the people I met and spent time with were all awesome and so much fun to be around.
            As a writer, I realized from the start that being in a class that so heavily required my talent was bound to be a memorable experience. Although I initially wasn’t very familiar with writing news articles for a paper, I eventually learned this trade and let it become part of my craft.
            During my time in this class, I learned more about news and reporting than I ever knew before, and there was never anything that I didn’t find to be extremely fascinating. The fact that so much work and personal dedication must go into being a journalist was astounding to me, and it taught me that something that may appear simple at first glance may in fact be quite the task.
            More than anything, I discovered that in the world of journalism, you absolutely cannot write about topics that are blatantly boring. Any time I tried to write about something and realized no one really cared about it, I stopped in my tracks and moved on to something else, because I knew that you will potentially lose your audience without a truly engaging story.
            While journalism is for the most part a blissful journey once you get used to it, there are always complications that tend to unexpectedly arise. When I wrote my music review on Rihanna’s album “Talk That Talk,” I had no clue of the backlash I would receive from my editors. When I went back, I saw that I had accidentally put a lot of obvious sexual slang regarding the songs into the article, which would not be o.k. for the majority of most immature high school readers. This helped me to learn the lesson that editing is important, and can more often than not save you from possibly impending trouble.
            Throughout my time working for the Cougar Print, I wrote some very memorable pieces that I will be proud of for years to come. “Femme Fatale Tour seems more like Flop Fatale” was my debut article, and it shined bright with humor and a catchy title about one of the music industry’s most debated artists. “Winning with the Written Word” was another that I particularly cherished, due to the fact that I got to write about something I was passionate about as well as interview one of my favorite teachers.
            This is the end of my time on the school newspaper that all of us staff have worked so diligently to make a success… I feel that our job has been done, and we are ready to move on to bigger things. Personally, I plan on continuing to write, possibly professionally, as well as moving steadfastly towards my dream career of being a Park Operations Manager at Disney World. I hope that through my writing, you all have learned that reporting the news is a much more important and valuable aspect of our integral society than most people realize. But while it can be stressful at times to reach the level of perfection you’re wanting as a journalist, it will also leave you with luminous memories that you can keep with you for the rest of your life.
 
Sayonara,
Logan Haithcock

Posted in: Uncategorized