Don’t Be a Stranger

Posted on January 11, 2012

0


So this is the end of the semester and the end of the Cougar Print. Well, at least for this year.  Until then it’s time for goodbyes from all of us and much in the style you’ve come to expect from me if you’ve read any of my work I’m going to ramble on for a few pages.

The word “reflection” is very instrumental to the purpose of this article. I’m supposed to look back at who I was at the beginning of the class and consider who I am now and observe changes and things that have remained the same, much like looking into a mirror. It’s ideal if you take away some lessons of your own. Who was I at the beginning of this class? I was not exactly your average teenager but a teenager regardless. I understood what the news was and what purpose it was supposed to serve, but I had no real understanding of what went into making the news. Ironically, I didn’t really watch the news that much and I was late in knowing a lot of major events in 2011: the revolution in Libya, the crisis at the Fukushima plant and the occupy protests. I learned from my peers about all these. I didn’t have a full understanding of them until I went back and researched them for this class. The world to me was my activities and interests and not much else.

So I took this class and at the start a lot of journalism, the method of writing, the ideas and opinions and inner workings was explained to us and I actually got excited. A journalist sounded like a champion of truth to me, like a knight in shining armor wielding a pen and a notebook: Ias ready to start writing. I was ready to uncover corruption and drag it out into the light for everyone to see. Then I remembered I was writing for a school newspaper. Carteret Countyisn’t exactly rife with corruption, and my first two beats were local news and video game review. So instead of crusading against injustice like I thought I was going to do. I learned more about the informative and less dramatic side of news. From that I learned that certainly some of news is exciting crusade against corruption and injustice, but a lot of it is simply informing others about things not as dire. It’s like a review should be treated as a conversation with a friend. Someone asks, “Hey is this or that good?” and you tell them. An article is telling someone about an event that recently happened. You’re taking someone aside and asking them,”Hey, did you hear about this?”

So you could say that throughout this semester I have been your friend. When you wanted to know whether this or that was good, I told you. That thing you didn’t know about, I told you about it. We’ve been having a conversation all through the semester and now that it’s coming to an end I have something to ask of you.

Don’t be a stranger.

By Brendan Buffington

Posted in: Farewell