Farewell to Audience

Posted on January 12, 2012

0


Like most articles I have written, I don’t know where to begin. Should I begin reminiscing on the memories that I have as a journalist? Should I list the things that I have learned? Maybe I should begin with a simple goodbye.

Before the Cougar Print, I was unaware of what happened in my county, the United States, and the world. Like most teenagers, I only watched the news to make sure school was out.

Being a journalist not only changed the way I viewed the news, but it also changed the way I viewed life and my surroundings. I have learned to be more flexible and adapt to situations that I am unable to change or control. I have learned to be open-minded and to listen, because there are two sides to every story.

I am proud of all my articles, but if I had to choose one, “Seniors—Want Some Cheese with That Whine” https://chsnews.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/want-some-cheese-with-that-whine/ would be my number one choice. Before writing the article, I felt like every other senior at Croatan. I couldn’t wait to graduate, move out and only come back for holidays. I even felt that way while I was writing it. After interviewing my peers and a few adults I realized I let my complaining ruin my experience as a senior. Writing the article not only changed a few of my peers, it also changed me.

I will remember the journalists I have gotten to know, and the knowledge that I have gained. I plan to use everything that I have learned, including my 21st century skills

Reported by Gabrielle Hill

Posted in: Farewell