Not the end, just the beginning

Posted on January 12, 2012

0


It’s funny to think about how time travels so quickly.  If I were to say NOW, then the now has already passed.  You will never be able to go back to that moment; the only thing remaining is the memory of what has passed. But that’s why we are given the gift of memory; it allows us to remember what we cannot have again. 

 

"Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened."

This year, I have been so fortunate to share a class with such great writers.  Though I will not be able to get the moments I have cherished back, I will always have the memories to keep me smiling.  One of my most memorable moments was when I started researching my first article.  I was so excited to call myself a journalist, and that I was able to report on something I actually cared about.  Also, I can remember being nervous about letting my peers edit my work.  When I write, I tend to write a lot differently than when I talk.  I was able to put my own emotions into this class, and in the end, wasn’t scared to show my opinion.

I have learned so much about writing in just this one class of journalism.  I learned that you cannot be afraid to take a chance on a controversial topic, follow your heart, write with emotion and facts (and make it sound good), and be engaging in your research and interviews.  Most of all, I learned that everyone has a voice that they want to be heard.  It’s important for people to learn these skills.  I mean, let’s face it; these are typical life skills that don’t come from a text book or a teacher’s lecture.  You have to go out and learn this stuff through experience, and journalism is a great class that allows you to do so.

In the end, however, I wanted my writing to be something that people could find comfort in reading.  I want my readers to learn that it’s okay to take chances in writing and to express themselves in the purest form…with words.  I want my readers to know that getting to the bottom of something and investigating situations and topics thoroughly is okay.  There is nothing wrong with challenging what you know.

I had such a wonderful experience in this class, and I wouldn’t change it for anything.  So, if you are reading this, I would like to leave you with a quote that is very near and dear to my heart.  “In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”  The man who said this, Abraham Lincoln, was not only a great leader, but knew how to write in a way that allowed his readers/listeners to understand what he wanted.  So go forth my readers and see the world with journalistic eyes, ones that will have so much more meaning. 

By Kylie Wright

Posted in: Farewell